My Cinderella Sundress

By: Mary

Due to picking up a book called “One Yard Wonders” at the library,the inspiration hit to throw myself into another sewing kick. I will truthfully confess that this makes pretty much no sense for a variety of reasons. Reason number one is that the communal Slattery girls’ closet doesn’t even have room for new clothes. This is the result of sister and friend swapping, and thrift store and TJ Maxx shopping. The other big reason I have for not trying out new projects right now is that I have no time.

But I was inspired, so I started buying fabric and designing. Feeling a bit defeated because of my lack of sewing machine abilities, I decided to get extra determined to make the project happen. So I set a deadline. I gave myself one week to make it happen. Often when faced with a challenge, I think up stories of people conquering difficult obstacles. This thought process is rather helpful. There are so many great role models in history. Racking my brain for some domestic goddess mentor was useless. All I could think of was Cinderella…So I searched for parallels between us. I mean she ended up with a great dress, and it was created with compromised resources and time. I am not quite sure we have that much in common. I can’t say that I really have evil, ugly and horrid step sisters. But I do have a fairy godmother (er, mom, I mean)!

The actual piecing together of this dress was completely credited to Mom. If previously, any of you readers were thinking, “Wow, Mary sews, what talent!” Please keep thinking that. However, I will share with you how this dress actually got stitched together. It goes something like this. Moms sits at my sewing machine, and I “sew” by talking to her for a solid 3 fun hours while she actually does the work. I pull up funny or introspective articles online. We laugh, we talk about serious things, Mom tsk tsks about modesty, or  lack of . Basically, I have the best of both worlds- a new sundress and  mom time.  Finally, the project got completed 4 whole days earlier than my deadline. Vwalah! No wand involved.

This dress has proved to be super comfortable. Yesterday, I wore it to two weddings. This morning I changed things up and turned it into a skirt for mass.

All credit for this dress goes to my MOM, and “One- Yard Wonders”. The book had 101 sewing project ideas and is authored by Rebecca Yanker and Patricia Hoskins. It is complete with patterns and tips. The only things excluded from it is a fairy godmother and extra time and closet space.

5 thoughts on “My Cinderella Sundress

  1. Lydia Jentzen Will

    I love the dress! I remember having sewing sessions with my Grandma when I was little that were similar to yours with your mom – basically I did nothing, she did it all and I said “look what I made!” to my mom when she came to pick me up. I’ve been wanting to check out that book for awhile. I may have to head to the library this afternoon and see if they have it. Great post!

    Reply
    1. sweetridgesisters Post author

      This is Kate. I love the dress, too! I am so impressed by it! It is awesome that mom has time to sew now. I had no idea that she could, as it was the least of her priorities while raising 9 kids.

      Reply
  2. Jenna

    That’s a great method for getting a new dress! I should try that technique on my Mom . . . or on my sister Erica, who actually studied costume design and construction and makes the most beautiful dresses for herself.
    Erica made my Regency gown for a ball in March, but I make no claims at having part in the results! =) That was way beyond my skill level. You can see pictures of it here if the mood strikes you: http://jennaseverythingblog.wordpress.com/2011/03/25/off-to-see-the-wizard/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

