And I’m Feelin’ Fine(ally)

by Colleen

It’s Finals Week here at the University of Dallas.  I think a bit of this is on everyone’s mind:

Yup.  It’s some fuuuun times here.  I literally can not find a place to study that isn’t full of other people studying.  It makes me feel like a slacker. The campus is fine(ally) settled down.

Every time I sit down, I suddenly am struck by all the things I would rather be doing, and studying on my bed is no longer an option.  Do you know how dangerous it is?  5 minutes into studying for Economics, and my uncomfortable dorm room mattress is suddenly heaven.

Here are all the irrational and assorted things I get the urge to do when I really should be studying:

1. Go for a walk, a long one, with a nice book of fiction that is not an epic poem that is not a thousand years old.

2. Play piano-yes, let’s drag up pieces from years ago.  Might need to brush up on that Beethoven for Understanding the Bible class, right?

3. Watch Arrested Development (actually I have done that when “studying”.  It’s a brilliant show, and I highly recommend it)

4. Look, I suddenly want to write for the blog again!

5. Compile a Christmas wish list in my head.

6. Listen to Stan Rogers and relive my childhood.  I want to “take the Northwest Passage”, and that makes me “an idiot, I suppose”. Ouch.

And lastly, I really just want to go home.  Christmas in Wisconsin, here I come!  3 finals to go…

8 thoughts on “And I’m Feelin’ Fine(ally)

  1. Jenna

    I remember well the misery of finals week. But college life also represented some of the most fun times ever, so you come out on top in the realm of “fun” in the end. =)
    P.S. I love Arrested Development too!

    Reply
    1. sweetridgesisters Post author

      I’d say I’m more distracted and impatient than anything this week! And, you’re right, I’ve been able to have fun with my friends despite the large amount of studying (they study-not me so much). And also, I have not met a person who does not like Arrested Development!

      Reply
  2. Antigone's Clamor

    Good luck, Colleen!!

    I, too, have always been excellent with procrastinating on finals. I will usually start something big about three weeks before finals…got through 4 seasons of Doctor Who one time. I read four of Terry Goodkind’s books (avg of 800 pages) another time. Oh, the lengths we will go to avoid studying!!

    Reply
  3. Pam

    C’mon, lady … get ‘er done. You’ve got this in the bag and then I’ll be reading all about your fabulous Christmas in Wisconsin!! Prayers going up for you … and Emma … and Killian, of course, in my little corner of Texas. Hang in there!

    Reply
    1. sweetridgesisters Post author

      Thanks, Pam! I got another one down just now-no more Econ! I saw Killian right before it and wished him luck on his politics final. We’re all slogging though. Thanks for the prayers!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

