The Heroic Brother-in-law and the 24-Hour Urine Sample.

By Nicole

Sometimes there are things in life that are so incredibly embarrassing that you are obligated to tell people so they can share in your laughter. As Kate said earlier, I am on bed rest to prevent my impatient child from emerging early.

I am being monitored for pre-eclampsia, which is an issue affecting your blood pressure and possibly causing premature birth. Last Friday, my wonderful family was in and out all day bringing me lots of movies, books, and some stunning yellow tulips. Cale came over to make me a fancy tuna sandwich (complete with a garnish and everything!) and everyone was graciously keeping me entertained. During my bed rest sentence I was instructed to provide my mid-wife with a 24 hour urine sample. The nurse handed me a neon orange plastic container and said “Good luck”. Much to my humiliation, I agreed to comply.

All was going well and my 24 hour orange project was about over when I started to have some pretty aggravating chest pain. I called the clinic expecting them to tell me not to worry and was instructed to go straight to the ER. Great. With Rob at work, the only available chauffeur just so happened to be the Sweet Ridge boy himself, my brother in law Pat Slattery.

I grabbed my jug of shame, tried to keep calm and off we went. Pat may have been concerned but was masking this in sarcasm, jokes and taking the long way to the ER, by accident. Upon arrival, I was admitted immediately and Pat was given the task of intercepting calls from my Husband. Meanwhile, Rob was slightly alarmed because when he asked if I was alright Pat responded with “Well, she’s talking.” Pat walked with me up to labor and delivery where they gave me a gown and a room. I could tell that all the nurses were assuming this was my husband and I could just see them studying his odd behavior as he was completely disengaged with his nose in a book and only offering a sarcastic comment every now and then.

We reached the room and I realized that my neon jug of embarrassment was still in the car and poor Patrick had to retrieve this for me. While he was gone I gave all the nurses a SERIOUS pep talk about that man not being my husband and my back less hospital gown. I informed them that if they were not careful and modest with this issue in front of my dear brother in law, he and I and our family would never recover. I am more likely to sue for the trauma of embarrassment than any other malpractice issue.
Thankfully, Rob showed up and my poor brother in law was released of his duties. All of my tests came back normal though my blood pressure is still too high and my bed rest continues. Thank you Patrick, I appreciate your assistance and your calmness when I really needed it. Thank you to my sweet, loving family for your visits, tuna and flowers. Lastly, thank you to my sweet, sweet husband for getting up with me in the middle of the night, making dinner and for waiting on me hand and foot, you are the best. There is a light at the end of this tunnel- only 4 ½ weeks till D day!

 

If you missed Nicole’s earlier posts, and the beautiful story of her meeting and marrying our brother Rob, here they are:

Dazed by the Ridge: The Newest Sweet Ridge Sister

It’s Okay to Not Know Everything

8 thoughts on “The Heroic Brother-in-law and the 24-Hour Urine Sample.

  1. Jenna

    Wow! Yeah, that would be embarrassing! I’m imagining my brother in law in the same situation . . . “awkward” feels like an understatement. =) Anyway, keep hanging in there!

    Reply
  2. Therese Giles

    Nicole, I am friends with your mother in law Terese and I knew Pat and Rob when they were kids. When Rob was little I knew he would grow to be a thoughtful man. I loved your story and you and the little one are now in my prayers. Keep us posted!

    Reply
  3. Kaylee Ambundo

    Beautifully put Nicole – I am praying that everything continues to go the way it should for you and that you have an easy delivery – I too suffered from high blood pressure with my last 2 pregnancies – both girls turned out beautiful and healthy – your child will too!

    Reply
  4. Hayley Browne

    All the Slattery Stories are too funny! You will continue to be in my prayers, dear friend Nicole! Hang in there…and you too baby Slattery! ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

