Graduation and Such

Mary has already covered congratulating me on my graduation from high shool, as well as summed up my high scholl experience quite well (see previous post), but I thought that I’d you a bit more detail on the actual ceremony. The night started out with me frantically running out the door….

 in some very high heels, thanks to Mary’s generosity.

 

But, I made it into the car, cap and gown in hand, and arrived at the gym in good time. Once there, I slipped on said cap and gown, got out my flute for band, warmed up for choir, and snapped a few pictures with my fellow classmates. Then it was suddenly time for the processional. I led the charge!-errr, slow, stately walk up to the front row of seats. (Have I ever mentioned how insanely hard it is for a Slattery to walk slowly?  I was reining myself in majorly.) 

The ceremony was actually pretty long and boring (not unlike my whole high school career), but I did get to give a speech, being the Salutatorian of my class. I love speaking in public and tend to make some odd facial expressions, which Clare lovingly captured on camera.

In the end, I was just happy to be done with it all. No tears were shed, but many smiles and much laughter was to be had during and after the ceremony. I don’t quite know what was wrong with my other classmates; they all looked so serious!

 Thank you class of 2011! Here’s to the future! And of course, thank you to Mom and Dad. Your constant love and support and prayers got me to where I am today. I love you.

One thought on “Graduation and Such

Leave a Reply

