It’s Okay To Not Know Everything.

By Nicole

Lately, all of these recent changes have brought me to a reflective state.  There are so many questions in my head and mild frustrations as I make this new world my home: “What am I called to do in this new chapter of my life? Why is my family eight hundred miles away?  Why can’t I navigate this new place? Why do all of these landmarkers have to look alike? How did this meal turn black?” In summary, I have been experiencing a few growing pains as I ajust. However, I have found peace amongst the questions.  I have peace in the knowing that it’s okay to NOT know all the answers. It’s okay to get lost on these county roads; might as well enjoy the view. It’s okay to burn a meal once in a while, Rob will eat (almost) anything. It’s okay if some days all I accomplish is daily mass, a cup of coffee with Grandma, one job application and a tennis match with the girls. It’s okay to not have an employer right this second, a decent job is bound to turn up. My current state of life is one of learning. Everything is new and requires some investigation on my part. It’s all bound to work itself out. With this knowledge and new resolution to not worry, all of my reflections have turned to thoughts of thanksgiving. I have many things to be thankful for. I’ll show you a few…

Though my family is far away,  I now have a beautiful, new bunch of sisters.

My relationship with my actual sister is even stronger these days. Possibly due to the fact that I am not in Oklahoma.

I am blessed with dear friends. Even though most of them are states away from me now. Except Mary, I am very thankful you are near.

In addition to my good looking friends, back in Oklahoma I have a wonderful family that I love and miss. They are an excellent support system even from eight hundred miles away.

I suppose you could say that I am pretty thankful for this guy too. He has been my host, my GPS, my roomate and a very gracious consumer of my meals.

Lastly, I am thankful for my youth and happy to admit… I am okay with not having life all figured …just yet.

2 thoughts on “It’s Okay To Not Know Everything.

  1. Sassy

    Wonderful post…you reminded me of something Rainer Maria Rilke said

    “Be patient toward all that is unsolved in your heart. And try to love the questions themselves. Do not seek the answers that cannot be given you because you would not be able to live them. Live the question now. Perhaps you will then gradually, without noticing it, live along some distant day into the answer.”

    Reply
  2. Jenna

    What a great quote from Rilke via Sassy’s comment . . . and just as you do in your post, I often find peace in the thankfulness for what I have. Focusing on the blessings and thanking God for them is such a wonderful way to get back to that place of satisfaction, even when you have lingering questions.
    And I love how you call your husband your ‘GPS’–even though I live in a city with many clear landmarks, my husband is definitely still my GPS. I have a horrible sense of direction. =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

