Writer’s Block Conquered and Wishful Thinking

Before a few days ago, I had written startlingly little poetry this summer. The heat must have made me slow to put pen to paper, but I finally came up with something that I didn’t detest the look of one the page. It’s not that I haven’t had thoughts or ideas to write on, it’s just that I’d yet to lug out my poetry book from the recesses of my bedside table. Dog days of summer indeed.

But, I’m over that month of writer’s block. And here is the result:

Dreaming Traveler

Postcards and maps on the wall-

Places that she longs to go.

She sleeps beneath ancient Rome,

surrounded by the streets of Paris, inked in pale blues and pink.

Barcelona, Firenze, Greece, Ukraine,

places to go crowd her brain.

The world is so big, she so small

Maps gaze upon her sleeping face, beckoning from her wall.

“Come see the world.”

It’s true; maps do line my walls. I’ve acquired them from friends, family, and even ripped them out of textbbooks in the case of the map of ancient Rome.

First off, there is one of my beloved maps of Paris, the place that I want most to go.  Although, I’ve recently given up on my dream of living there.  I just finished a book called, “The Sweet Life in Paris” by David Lebovitz in which Parisiens were portrayed as a bit….self-involved.  I would much rather live in the French countryside.

This postcard was sent to me by my friend, Jubilee, as she was traveling Europe in May, and is one of my favorites.

But, with a name as Irish as Colleen Slattery, I cannot and will not ever abandon my Irish roots.  After France, Ireland is my top choice for traveling abroad.

Although France and Ireland are my dream places to go, Italy is the one country in Europe that I have the most chance to go.  The University of Dallas (the college I will be attending this fall) includes a semester abroad on their campus 10 miles outside of Rome during the sophomore year.  So, perhaps one of my traveling dreams will come true.

I will travel the world some day.  And you can bet that I’ll take all of you along with me, through verse and photography (even if Clare has all the talent when it comes to pictures!)

One thought on “Writer’s Block Conquered and Wishful Thinking

  1. Jenna

    You should totally do study abroad! I did a semester in Paris through IU and it was incredible. I met two of my best friends there, and we’ve been getting together at least once a year (if not more) since we were there 7 years ago.
    As for maps, my husband is a HUGE maps person–not a day goes by when he doesn’t relax by leafing through a map. My relaxing read tends to be a cookbook or a novel.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

