Fourth of July Fun

By: Clare

(Note: I know this is a while after the Fourth of July, but I didn’t get around to writing this until now due to my being quite busy/lazy lately.)

Our family has never been the All-American type. But as we celebrated Independece Day, we got pretty close. And so the Slattery family (minus Gabe and Aurora’s family, who were visiting family in Sheboyghan) made their way down to Coon Valley Park for a picnic and some swimming to cool off from the heat. The ride down was a test of patience thanks to Dad’s very  “cautious” driving we were all going insane and just  about ready to strangle someone.

When we finally got there, we immediately ran for the creek, a cool relief from the hot, crowded car. Coon Creek has been the Slattery’s personal swimming pool for as long as I can remember. It’s free, refreshingly cool, and open to the public.

After a while we hopped out long enough to get a bite to eat in the shade.

Rob manned the grill…

and Mom  and Colleen made everything else.  I don’t do kitchen work. We don’t get along.

We played horshoes for a little while…

Swam some more…

And then it was time to leave. I know what you’re thinking. What about the fireworks? It is the Fourth of July they’re celebrating, right?The Slattery family has never really been the firework kind. As a child I was very upset by our delaying the buying of fireworks until the day before the Fourth, and always disappointed at the flimsy display that was bought. But this year I found myself actually not even caring whether we had fireworks or not. We did end up having a few, thanks to Cale, and they were actually pretty nice. I learned this Independence Day that not only do I not care about fireworks anymore, but that it’s really hard to take pictures of fireworks. The one that I did end up getting that I thought was adequate was just a picture of a sparkler anyway, and also not uploaded on the computer, so I guess this is all there is to see.

Hope you had a great Fourth of July!

Leave a Reply

