Two-Thirds Sheep-Free

By: Mary

In the very begining of stages of this blogs evolution, I shared my late-winter experiences as a new lamb owner. (See Laundry Basket Lambs and Mary Had A Little Lamb).

 Since then, 6 months has slipped by.

After 8 weeks of bottle feeding, I sent them off to a relatives farm. There, a pasture was in need of being mowed, so it was a helpful solution for my uncle and myself. By this time, I was more than ready to send them off to what I like to call ” sheep foster care”. This worked out great for some time. At one point on a rainy May morning while high on endorphins after having just ran a race, I dropped in to see them. Due to the electric fence being on, I was unable to actually get under the hot wire. I called out their names in hope that they would amble on over and visit with me.The only response I got was blank looks on their faces and the resident goats of the pasture heading my way to visit with me. Annoyed, I yelled out ” What about the good shepherd and faithful sheap?!?” Before leaving I also made mention to them ” Idiots- you know how much money I spent on milk replacer?!”

After the couple of months stint as foster and pasture care sheep, I decided to sell out last week and put an add on Craigslist. I am still the technical owner of Rambuger, but am giving him to my Dad. Oddly enough, I got a lot of responses from people seeking sheep. The man who ended up buying them is a serious sheep guy who farms about 2 hours away. He wants to start milking 600 head of sheep! I found it super funny that on the phone he said, “Can I ask you a question? Do you ever go to a little bar called Leo and Leona’s?” What a small world it is. (Read some pretty amusing stories about Leo and Leona’s here and here)

Now that I am 2/3’s of the way sheep free, I am questioning if this was a one time shepherdess stint for me, or if I would do it again. I guess the answer is, I don’t know. Frankly, I enjoy the challenge of tending to the lambs when they are so small. It’s good busy work..buuuut- I don’t like sheep. When they hit the pasture beast stage I don’t really want to have to worry about them. In the future, I may raise about 6 sheep. This all depends on if I can have them sold to 4-H kids before I even buy them at a day old. That way, I can just feed them up for the first 8 weeks and then sell them off and make some cash. Who knows what will happen. All I know is that I am much more of a horsewoman than a shepherdess. Even if my name is Mary and I take my lambs to school.

2 thoughts on “Two-Thirds Sheep-Free

  1. Jenna

    Haha! Awesome post, Mary. The little lambs are so cute . . . I guess they lose most of that when they become full grown, though. Goats, however, are a different story–I think they’re cute and hilarious at any stage of life.

    Reply
  2. I Choose Happy Now

    Hi! I love the part where you questioned whether you would take care of sheep again and you realized that “you don’t like sheep much”. I don’t know why that part made me laugh.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Cheers,
    Louise

    Reply

Leave a Reply

