A Flying Farewell to Summer

by Kate

This morning the sky is dark. Thunder has been rolling through for hours now. The late lone sunflower that finally bloomed in my front yard is bowed down under the weight of the lashing rain and the tangled garden behind the house has succombed to complete chaos. School is in session, which means that summer is over here in our household. I am reluctantly leaving behind midnight on my back porch buried deep in the pages of a book, and instead greeting the day- and my teacher husband- before the sun rises with strong coffee, sizzling bacon, toast and eggs and cheese.

On this dark and rainy morning I am thinking about the end of this summer, which was a beautiful one. Thinking about this moment in the green Colorado River a few weeks ago in Texas.

This picture was taken by the amazing Julie Martyn. Julie is an incredible photographer who  lives a life of high adventure in Alaska with her husband and baby boy. They all happened to be in Texas at the same time as we did this summer, and we met on a blazing Sunday afternoon for an afternoon of swimming and Chinese food.

What I love about this picture is the joyful freedom and complete trust I can see on the face of my daughter as she flies through the air from my hands to those of my husband. I hope that I can learn to fly like that, from one season to the next, in faith that strong hands are there to hold me and that the next season will be as joyful as the last.

 

 

5 thoughts on “A Flying Farewell to Summer

    1. sweetridgesisters Post author

      This summer has been oppressivelly hot. We are very very grateful to our wonderful landlady who provided an air conditioner window unit. Without that, I can gaurantee the summer wouldn’t be a pleasant memory.

      Reply
  1. the Jilb

    You guys must have gotten all the heat. Up here in northern MN, we only had a couple of hot, hot weeks. I am definitely ready for Fall though!

    Love the pic. Very nice. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

