Good bye, Wisconsin!

by Colleen

A little over a week ago, I was dashing around the fields surrounding the Slattery family farm in Middle Ridge, Wisconsin, for a last good bye to western Wisconsin. Being the little sister most similar to Kate, I felt that it was only appropriate to commemorate this occasion with a photo shoot, in a long, green ball gown.  Clare was in tow, the director of Making Colleen’s Face Not Do Weird Things While Pictures Are Taken Of It, and my good friend, Cody, brought his photography skills and awesome camera.

The shots were taken in some of my favorite locations at home.

The asparagus field…..

The apple orchard…..


And of course, I had to taste our apples one last time…..they are truly the best apples in the world.  Can you tell from my face?

This gorgeous place is just a little nook off the path to the field and was completely Clare’s idea…

From there I headed out to do some flying leaps into our neighbor’s adjoining field.

Afterwards, I took a shot at snapping some pictures of our field myself.  I already miss this view so much.

It was on to the last location from there, the pasture next door.  And I never walk when I can run!

It was a day filled with green, a day filled with good byes.  I left the next morning for my Grandma’s house, three hours away, and on the next Monday, I flew into muggy Dallas.  Good bye, cool and green!  Good bye, Wisconsin!  Until we meet again….

4 thoughts on “Good bye, Wisconsin!

  1. sweetridgesisters Post author

    Kate here- I just want to say that when Mary and I posted the Blue Haired Belle entry this morning, we had no idea Colleen was planning to put this one up. We also had no idea she had taken these pictures. The dress she is wearing was the very first Bonnie’s Bridal sidewalk special I purchased- over 10 years ago.

    Reply
  2. cindydyer

    Hi Colleen, you all look like a hoot to hang out with! Love the ballgown in the woods idea….I’m going to entice my friends to pose for me in gowns (they usually hand themselves off to me anyway…they know I’ll retouch their “flaws” and make them 10 pounds thinner in Photoshop—LOL. Thanks for visiting my blog! I had a great time in your home state of Wisconsin this past week. Lovely weather, friendly people!

    Reply
    1. sweetridgesisters Post author

      Kate here- photoshop is pretty magical indeed. I never use it, largely out of laziness and a lack of knowledge, but I have to admit it is nice when I get back pictures someone else took with all the flaws fixed and professional lighting like yours.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

