Farmers in the City

by Kate

Mary left yesterday morning, and I miss her.

She is headed home to make coffee for Peter Drake and pick berries and ride her horse across the ridge. Early autumn is one of the best times to do that. I know she has had more than enough of city life right now. There are just so many people and so much many buildings here.

I did take her to the farmer’s market to make her feel more at home.

 

 

Pittsburgh is full of farmer’s markets. This one is an all local and organic market held every Saturday morning at an old firehouse in the famous Strip District.

The market was full of beauty and good bread.

I love this picture- it seems to sum up the urban farmer’s market experience.

The only problem is that when I go to the farmer’s market, I start to miss my North Carolina farmers and the time I spent taking pictures at markets for the Appalachian Sustainable Agriculture Project. Luckily the city is a great place to feel melancholy in a stylish manner.

There are also street musicians eager to serenade your troubles away. The baby loved this man. She insisted on climbing out of the sling and dancing on the street.

I miss my sister, but I am eager to hear about her upcoming adventures on the farm and out in the world. I also have a few more pictures to share with you from our urban wanderings. Till then, you will just have to imagine this man playing Twinkle Twinkle little star and my baby stomping and twirling on the street.

10 thoughts on “Farmers in the City

  1. The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife

    Your dark hair and red = perfect combo! And the bread looks delicious. Looks like quite an adventure you’re having in PA! It’s always nice to share your part of the world with a sister, isn’t it? My Portland dwelling sister has come to the farm a few times, but I think she’d go crazy after too long… heck, maybe I already have? 🙂

    Reply
  2. ~ Bruce

    Kate, I saw that same trombone man playing songs for a group of children during my visit to the ‘burgh last summer. What a flashback! Thanks for posting it.

    BTW, you commented on my blog that you wished you knew how to handle a camera. Well, it looks like you do just fine to me!

    I’ll be back to read future posts. All the best.

    Reply
    1. sweetridgesisters Post author

      The trombone man does well with children. He is a bit of a white haired pied piper, I think. Thanks for your comments on the camera! I am a point and shooter who has no clue how a camera works. I have always half wished to remedy that, but been too lazy. I just try to find scenes that will make up for that total lack of knowlege. All the best to you as well.

      Reply
  3. Rich W

    Had to come over here after seeing your nice comment about our new non-roasting status. Now I know who you are – who could forget those boots on a 90-degree 80% humidity morning! Anyway, was reading the past few posts, you’re all excellent writers with ability to convey mood and passion. Really nice work.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Everybody Loves Italian Men « sweetridgesisters

  5. Pingback: Sisters in The City (NYC Edition) « sweetridgesisters

Leave a Reply

