Medieval Times

by Colleen

This past Saturday night I went out into the town of Dallas with a bunch of fellow UDers to Medieval Times.  The event was advertised as a dinner and a tournament, but I didn’t quite know what to expect.  My older brother Patirck told me, “They give you basically a whole chicken to eat, with your hands, and there is lots of yelling,”.  Ummm, let’s just say that that did not make me more enthused to go, seeing as I don’t eat met and don’t yell much except at Clare and James, but I was quite curious on the bus over to the venue.

When we arrived, we walked over a moat and into a large castle, literally.  The whole place had been made expressly for the business of taking people back into Medieval times. The group was assigned a knight to cheer for (Go Green Knight!!), and sent in to the arena to be seated.  The meal was served, and the entertainment began!

The knight that UD had been assigned to ended up being the villain from the start.  Despite this fact, the crowd for the Green Knight was the most enthusiastic of all, and I cheered until my throat was sore.  The most impressive part of show was the horsemanship.  At one point there was a rider doing dressage as a gift for the king.  And there was real jousting, on horseback!

It was far better than I ever imagined it would be (and I got a vegetarian meal!).  As the Green Knight was slain, all the UD students booed, myself included.  But, we went out the door with smiles on our faces, despite the grease on our hands (apparently silverware was not in fashion in Medieval times-way to be authentic!).

Unfortunately, I do not own a camera, and so you are just going to have to rely on my description of the night.  But, I encourage you to check out this website for pictures of the show in general: http://www.medievaltimes.com/.

‘Twas a wonderful Saturday, indeed!

2 thoughts on “Medieval Times

  1. latebloomerbuds

    Awesome Colleen. I remember one of my kids went to one of those shindigs. Get yourself a camera, LOL! Thanks form checking in with us in the middle of all the college happenings. I know how busy you are. Xo

    P.S. Love the comment about not yelling except at Clare and James! Priceless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

