Caffe Mona

by Kate

There are benefits to setting out on foot to pound the pavement hanging posters all over town. I have been flyering for rock shows and Shakespearean productions and dance performances and bellydance classes for years now, and have come to love the work. It’s a great way to learn a neighborhood, and to discover where to find everything from an amazing bookshop to a great cup of coffee.

Yesterday I was hanging flyers for the  grand Gala Bellydance Show featuring Sherena happening Saturday here in Pittsburgh. It is going to be a great show, and if you are in the area you should come. Live band, great dancing, Turkish food available for purchase, beautiful space, family friendly, kids under 12 get in free. In the course of my ceaseless promotions, I stopped to hang a flyer at the Caffe Mona.

The Caffe Mona is located just across the street from the gargantuan and internationally renowned Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh. As coffeeshops often do, it has recently undergone a change of ownership. By all accounts, the former owner was a bit… aggressively friendly, particularly with female customers. Perhaps as a result, the new owner is distinctively courteous and respectful.

He is also Turkish, which means I heavily encouraged him to attend the upcoming bellydance show, and also that the menu at Caffe Mona is extremely enticing. The Caffe does catering as well as a full line of breakfast including sweet and savory seasonal crepes of all sorts and salads and sandwiches for lunch and dinner. My flyering companion had a pumpkin stuffed crepe, and I was torn between the Caprese Bagel or a Steak Omelet. I had the Omelet, but I’ll definitely head back for the bagel. The coffee is very good.

And the general atmosphere is warm, welcoming, and calm. I imagine that it would be a welcome respite for the staff and visitors at the UPMC Children’s Hospital across the street.

It was also a great place to have breakfast with a friend and a wiggling, ululating toddler. Meaning that perhaps during our stay there it wasn’t as great a spot as usual to get some work done in a contemplative manner.

If you’re near the Children’s Hospital or looking for a new coffeshop or lunch experience in Bloomfield or Lawrenceville any time soon, check out the Caffe Mona.

And now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off. I have some flyers to hang.

17 thoughts on “Caffe Mona

  1. The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife

    j.e.a.l.o.u.s….. my neighbor and I were just discussing the sugar-free pumpkin spice chai, and how much we miss our one little sit-down coffee shop in town. Great pics, and best wishes on the upcoming event!! Perhaps my Dad will take me to his PA birthplace one of these days… how fun to visit 🙂

    Reply
  2. Minnesota Prairie Roots

    Isn’t it fabulously fun to discover these delicious little places? Love the brick. Love the lighting. Love the whole feel of the place conveyed via your images. Beautiful photos, especially the third one.

    And I like that word “flyering.” Never considered transitioning that noun into a verb.

    Reply
    1. sweetridgesisters Post author

      Hey, thanks! You are such a twittering rock star. In fact, you are the master of virtual flyering, so it’s funny you hate the physical kind. Let me know if you ever need physical flyers put up in Pittsburgh and I’ll return the favor.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Dancing in the City « sweetridgesisters

  4. Pingback: The Cookie Tour « sweetridgesisters

Leave a Reply

