Turkey Day Jumble

By: Clare

A lot of things were different this Thanksgiving.

For one thing, there was absolutely no snow on the  ground.

And crazily enough, I’m kind of ready for it to snow. In fact, I kind of miss the snow we usually have around at about this time. Except I know once it actually starts snowing there aren’t many chances of it stopping, and then the snow will be here to stay for awhile. And I will grow sick of it. Very, very sick of snow and cold. But thats something I can tell you about during winter. For now: Thanksgiving.

If you hadn’t noticed from the above picture, something has changed on our dog too. He no  longer looks like a groomed poodle, instead, he looks like the Australian Shepherd he really is.

Speaking of dogs, did I mention I missed this year’s National Dog Show that airs on Thanksgiving day? Well, I did, and I must say, I was extremely disappointed. Stupid football. You ruin everything.

You might have also noticed the stacked pile of wood in the first photo. We use a small wood stove to heat our entire 3-story farmhouse, which makes everthing all warm and cozy in the winter. It actually got so warm we had to open the windows to cool the kitchen. I love wood heat!

And just because I can, why not throw in another wood pile shot?

Wow, I’ve strayed quite off topic, haven’t I? I suppose I might have to go back to my Thanksgiving theme…

Well, this Thanksgiving we had a much smaller crowd. Only eight people ate with us! Can you believe it? I couldn’t, as I set the table, but it did make it so that everyone had the same matching china dishes, which hasn’t been able to happen in while due to there not being enough of our good china to go around.

The table is set a lot differently on Thanksgiving day than it is at any other normal meal. And the ridiculous thing is, I actually like setting the table for Thanksgiving, and on every other day its one of my least favorite chores. First we put on a pretty lace tablecloth (we never use tablecloths, they’d get absolutely ruined if we used them everyday).

The china that I mentioned before was a wedding gift to my great-grandmother on my mother’s side and has been handed down to us. This makes the china even more special, because I’m all about the history.

So when the table was set to perfection, thanks to yours truly, the food was put on and we all sat down to stuff ourselves.

Ironically, we never eat turkey for Thanksgiving. Instead, we opt for our own homegrown chicken!

And of course, the most delicious stuffing ever.

There was more…cranberries, homemade bread, but I don’t want to overload your taste buds!

Well, I guess that was it. Not a very eventful Thanksgiving, but there is so much to be thankful for my life that that fact was forgotten…until my teenage attitude remembered and went downstairs to complain to Mom and search for some leftover stuffing.

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving weekend!

4 thoughts on “Turkey Day Jumble

  1. gojulesgo

    Your dog and the china are so beautiful! The idea of heating the whole house with wood heat sounds delightful. We have a spot for a wood burning stove on our first floor…now we just need to get one and install it!

    Reply
  2. Jenna

    The table looks beautiful, and I’m a HUGE fan of chicken instead of turkey for Thanksgiving! (I wish I could taste your homegrown chicken–I bet it’s spectacular). We did 2 chickens last year instead of a turkey and it was awesome. This year it was turkey–but Uncle Mike did a great job with it and it was pretty delicious too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

