Funny Little Fig

By: Mary

Two summers ago Patrick brought home a tiny squirming Australian Shepherd puppy from Iowa that quickly won my affection and became the perfect canine companion for me. In my eyes he could do no wrong, and I told him so on a daily basis. Right before Christmas, my dog was hit by a car and died of internal injuries.

After he died, I vowed that I would never get another dog again. Even the sight of dogs bothered me. I was well aware that the family dog, Bounder, was expecting his offspring.

But I was convinced that having another dog would be too hard. While I was away in New York, Bounder disappeared under the porch into a little den like space that nobody could get to. It was evident that she had given birth judging from the sounds of a yelping puppy. A month went by with her hidden in her hole, only coming out for food and water. I came back home still adamant that I had no interest in whatever was business going on under the porch. Finally the yelping stopped and we wondered if she had died. Indeed, this was not hard too imagine as she is 11 years old in dog years which means about 70 in people years. Last Sunday morning I took the time to investigate and checked the doghouse that my brother, Robert had procured out of an old broken freezer.

As you can see, it’s a pretty hard scramble house with a camping mat draped over the top for extra insulation. Personally, I call it the dog trailer house. Although I disdain it, Bounder must not, for I discovered that she was contentedly sprawled in it with just one lone puppy. For all we know, she may have had more, please do remember though that she is 70-something in dog years. 70 year old animals and people have every right to eat their new offspring I suppose. So if she did pack in a bit of extra puppy protein, please don’t judge her.

After collective communal agreement, the puppy is now named Fig. Fig is a funny little guy, and has a curved spine. My brother, Patrick took him to the local vets house and found out that he has scoliosis. Patrick said that when he was at the vets house Fig was yapping away with bravado at the vet’s big dogs. That’s just what his dad would have done too.

Scoliosis doesn’t stop him from scampering about though!

I still think about Fig’s dad a lot. Sometimes I dream about him dying, and once in awhile thoughts of him still make me cry. But when I see Fig I forget about never wanting a dog again. He makes me squeal with delight, and I am thinking that maybe eventually we are going to be friends….

For more of Sweet Ridge dog tales, check out:

No, Bub, No!

Bub the Biter

It’s the Thought that Counts

Goodbye Baby

12 thoughts on “Funny Little Fig

  1. gojulesgo

    I’m so sorry to hear about your dog! I still get choked up when I think of my first dog (who we had to put down because of old age), and that was 8 years ago!

    Fig is absolutely adorable (and so is that name). He’s already won me over.

    Reply
    1. sweetridgesisters Post author

      Last time around she really did with one puppy. Maybe it did die first, all I know is that my little brother saw her get rid of it. I know pigs do that too. I didn’t know that tomcats do though.

      Reply
      1. sweetridgesisters Post author

        Actually, I was the one who watched her drag the puppy I had just named that morning out to the front yard and rip its head off. It was quite a sad event.

        -clare

  2. Minnesota Prairie Roots

    Did the vet indicate whether Fig will have back issues as he grows due to the scoliosis? Thankfully he has a loving family.

    Scoliosis, left untreated, at least in humans, can cause all sorts of problems. My second daughter wore a full-body back brace 24/7 for a year or more to stop her scoliosis from getting worse. I was not diagnosed with scoliosis until several years ago and now, in my 50s, it is causing physical issues.

    Reply
    1. sweetridgesisters Post author

      I am not really sure. Honestly, I wasn’t there at the time and don’t really want to know. All I know is that he has it, and I am taking it one puppy month at a time.

      I am sorry to hear about both your daughter’s and your own diagnosis. I hope you both have figured out how to control the pain and that it gets better instead of worse.

      Best Wishes,
      mary

      Reply
  3. laviebohemeart

    He is so cute! I know how attached we can get with dogs! I’m definitely one!!! They become your baby in your life… I have this amazing book about dogs and I can’t remember the name but I will find it and post it here but the book was amazing!! In one of the chapters she talks about one of the dogs eating their litter. It was very interesting to know why cause 2 of the dogs were giving birth sort of the same time. Its amazing how they think and how they act upon situations like this. Fig is the word!!! Hands up for the pup!!!!!

    Reply
  4. Noel

    What a precious little pup. So wonderful how life has a way of turning around. It’s awesome how your never turned into maybe…and then into YES!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

