Cleanse Cravings

By Mary

After having just completed a 5 day Holy Week cleanse in which I abstained from food, I’ve had a lot of time to reflect on the importance of food and the gift of energy that comes with eating. Swallowing supplements every hour and a half did a great job of cleansing my body’s intestinal system and suppressing my appetite, but all the while, I knew exactly what I wanted.

Here at Sweet Ridge Farm, Dad grows about 12,000 crowns of this wonderful plant which is in my opinion is both delicious and a fantastic crop, as it grows for an average of 50 years. From April or May to the third week of June, harvesting the tender stalks is as much a part of of the morning as the suns rising is.

I love harvesting asparagus because it’s such a serene experience. At a quarter to 6 or so, the world is still so peaceful and seemingly immaculate. Being in the field (generally in my pajama pants) with dew beneath my rain boots and and in an environment of complete gentle, silence minus the serenade of birds singing, is a pretty fantastic way to start ones day. You could say that harvesting asparagus is my form of farmer yoga! Snapping the succulent stalks requires a lot of bending and stretching. This harvest is not particularly heavy nor dirty nor hard work. It’s just the right kind of work that’s perfect to be done at 6 in the morning as the sun rises further into the sky and the birds become more vocal.

The land on which most of the asparagus is grown has more of a familiarity to me than from the acquaintance of harvests. Memories of digging the trenches to plant the crowns, and later racing a mare of mine in between the rows without a saddle or bridle, truly united me to the beauty and bounty of the field.

After the asparagus had been brought into the house, it is culled, cut and weighed to be sold to Organic Valley and the Viroqua Food Coop. Not all of it goes from being processed on my parent’s gigantic Amish-made table to being sold.

A large frying pan here at the Slattery house gets daily use during asparagus season as it’s used to fry up daily portions of the harvest. Fried with bacon grease, and often times with a bowl of rice and sour cream, I am known to eat asparagus so regularly that at times I’ll have a bowl for breakfast.

Speaking of eating- I am hungry! Perhaps it is time to locate the frying pan, and fill it with a bit of bacon grease, and tender asparagus…..

 

Want to read more agricultural related posts? Check out:

Thunderstorm Morning

An I Love Post

Working in Season

10 thoughts on “Cleanse Cravings

  1. gojulesgo

    Wow, kudos to you on the cleanse! I love asparagus – we have some in the fridge now that I can’t wait to enjoy.. I wonder if I’ve ever [unknowingly] had any from the Sweet Ridge farm!!

    Reply
  2. Elizabeth Martin

    Wow! Great job on the cleanse and what a great way to celebrate Holy Week! I will have to keep that in mind for next lent.

    You must provide more details on how you prepare that asparagus…I am very curious bacon, rice, and sour cream?

    Reply
    1. sweetridgesisters Post author

      Actually, I just gently sautee the asparagus in bacon grease and then add it to a bowl of either white or brown rice that I mix with sour cream. It’s super easy, healthy and staple.
      As for the cleanse, it was super tough but I totally commend you for thinking about doing something of the sort next year. However, if you have small children needing your support and assistance, I recommend pursuing some other alternative for the special week.

      Reply
  3. laurainmontana

    Dear Mary,
    I loved this post! Wonderful pictures. I just posted about children and asparagus on my blog. I love them. We eat them all spring – so healthy. I love how you describe food as a “gift of energy”. So true. Bless your Easter.
    Love,
    Laura

    Reply
  4. Gretchen O'Donnell

    Love asparagus! I am so sad because twice now the frost has killed our brave shoots…so I’m hoping that the nights stay warm now so I can feast on asparagus!!! It’s free, it’s healthy, and my kids even eat it! Leave it alone, frost!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

