Putting the Lug in Luggage

By: Mary

When looking for a means of transporting an entire set of china that was left to Kate after the passing of my grandmother, I decided to find a new use for a sturdy cardboard box that is used to pack pie pumpkins and cabbage when shipping organic produce to Organic Valley.  Okay, I know that lugging about a produce box is not exactly the most hip (or practical) way to travel, but I formulated a plan that included getting two boxes of china, to my sister along with a few fur coats, some blackberry jam I made that is a fleeting commodity at this time of the year, a few purses, and of course a  ballgown that Kate wanted back after an extended loan back to the farm so it could be used as a prom dress.

As you may remember, Kate is quite comfortable with train travel in an heirloom fur…

vintage fur coat train travel lacrosse depot

though in my opinion it makes her look a bit like a gigantic mother hen.

Because I was traveling on the train, I hoped with optimism that my plan of checking the two boxes could go off without a hitch. Well, the plan did work… but only with a LOT of lugging. The first setback was that I was told I couldn’t check the boxes because they were not fully sealed. I knew that the only way I could handle taking Kate her “stuff” was to just start consolidating as much as I could into only one box. When boarding the train, the not so hip me ended up with my luggage bag checked under the train, and a roughly 75 pound produce box bruising my hip, which was beginning to strongly resemble the blackberry jam.

Due to an early spring snowstorm from the never-ending winter I was trying to flee, my train got into Chicago several hours late. I missed my connecting train to Pittsburgh, but got in plenty of exercise lugging that heavy box through Union Station, into a cab, onto a Greyhound bus, and through the bus terminal in Pittsburgh the next morning.

image

Thankfully, my farmgirl strength and a winter full of kickboxing classes had me in fine form for heaving produce- or China and ballgowns. Still, I was happy to arrive her for some much needed Porch Time with my sister.
image

For more about the fur coats and recent and past travels, check out these links:

Furs on the Farm

Train Travel

The Slattery Oklahoma Suburb Rush

A Saturday Away

4 thoughts on “Putting the Lug in Luggage

  1. vantiganloo

    Once I took a long plane ride from VT to MN with a piece of firewood that I found in our pile that looked as if there was a woman stepping out of it… it seemed important at the time (I knew a good friend would love it). You are a wonderful sister to do such things as well as to razz your beloved sister on the interwebs about looking like a chicken… MARY…
    also you look adorable sitting in the cold of PA with a glass of wine and a bouquet of garlic, wearing a 4 year old’s hat…

    Reply
    1. sweetridgesisters Post author

      Firewood on a plane is probably about as commun as a firearm on a plane. I hope you or your friend still have the chunk today. As far as the hat goes, it’s actually my 2 year old nieces, but it’s nice and strechy and keeps kids ears warm with playing outside, or an adult warm when freezing on a porch with red wine:)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

