Country Girl in the City, Part One

by Kate

I was born and bred on a farm. I climbed a grain bin barefoot on my wedding day.

farmgirl bride

And then I moved into the heart of a great grey city of steel and iron and statues and stone.

urbanpittsburgh

But I am still a barefoot country girl, although I also have a pretty fabulous collection of sky high heels. I think that many people assume that simple sustainable living is a country thing. I know I did. I was wrong. I’ve learned a lot in the past few years, and I want to share some of them with you. These are some of the things that I do that remind me of home and have helped me to create a beautiful and sustainable life here.

I hang my clothes on the line.

laundry hanging on line

I’ve got a bed of strawberries under the laundry line too. I grow garlic, enough to last all year.

bed of garlic urban farming

I use cloth diapers as much as I can. These cheerful ones were a gift from a blog reader. (Thanks again, by the way. I love them.)

cloth diapers

I bake bread, and cookies, and cake, and I teach my children to bake too.

baking

These are some of the things that make me feel at home. Bake bread, grow garlic, hang clothes. Keep a compost pile. It turns out that some of the things that made country living enjoyable for me weren’t contingent on living in the country. I plan to keep sharing these things in an occasional series. Kick your shoes off, and join me on my country girl in the city adventures!

5 thoughts on “Country Girl in the City, Part One

  1. Lydia

    Love this. I doubt I have what it takes to be a “real” farm girl, but it’s fun to pretend here in the middle of downtown. The laundry line the (botched, mostly) gardening attempts, the bread rising on the counter top – it feels right to me, too.

    Reply
  2. Minnesota Prairie Roots

    Like you, I, too, grew up on the land, but have lived “in town” for the past three decades. I don’t live in a big city, like you, but I don’t have much land either. I hang my laundry on the line, plant whatever vegetables I can stuff into pots and into the parcels of dirt I have for these “crops.” I used cloth diapers when my “kids” were little. Thanks for reminding us all that living in the city like you still live in the country is possible.

    Reply
  3. latebloomerbuds

    Kate, so glad you nurture the country girl part of you. It is the deepest roots you have. Your children will be more grounded because of it. Loved this post. Margie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

