Homespun

Mary

Words are interesting to think about. Definitions and sentences hold a lot of power. They can build a person or vision up, or break it down. Recently I realized how much I like a word and how it applies to my life. The word is this: homespun.

embroidery hoop craft

To some this word may sound grungy or outdated. I don’t think so though! I feel like this word reflects simplicity and sincerity, thriftiness and creativity. And also much trial and error.

I love living a homespun life.

nicole slattery photography portrait horse wisconsin

I like sharing that life with others.

050

I like making homespun things.

030

beforebabyboy 014

I especially like sharing homespun projects with children. Cultivating creativity in kids is so important.

move egg flowers 019

farmbooth 032

And of course, I like eating homespun food.

283

Going at homespun projects is a great way to use energy and creativity. And at the end of a project, there is always another idea for a new project looming in site. Speaking of that, I REALLY need to figure out how to tan a sheep fleece. That and learning how to make homemade ice cream and braid my own rugs all are on my homespun bucket list, but first I should complete the roughly 12 undone projects I have half done. Speaking of that-why don’t I just start completing a project by posting this blog post. Check.

Leave a Reply

